Acoustica - Software should be easy to use

assigning knobs on my midi controller

Support and feedback for Acoustica's Mixcraft audio mixing software.

Moderators: Acoustica Greg, Acoustica Chris, Acoustica Eric, Acoustica Dan

jerjaxon
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 9:09 pm

assigning knobs on my midi controller

Postby jerjaxon » Sun Jan 23, 2011 9:20 pm

wow. mixcraft kicks butt. anyway, i just got an m audio oxygen 25 midi controller, which works great, no problems setting it up with mixcraft. my question is, there are a bunch of knobs on the controller. how do i assign them to control specific filter and ocsillator fuctions on the minomouge and messiah? i'm all set to do some sweet "on the run" type pink floyd stuff, but i need help!

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13420
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Postby Acoustica Greg » Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:44 pm

Hi,

With both the Messiah and the MinimogueVA, right-click on a knob and select "Learn," then twiddle the knob on your MIDI controller that you want to assign to that virtual knob.

Greg

jerjaxon
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Jan 23, 2011 9:09 pm

sweet

Postby jerjaxon » Mon Jan 24, 2011 9:12 pm

works like a charm. i just didnt wanna start pushing buttons and mess somethin up!

User avatar
AxeGrrl
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:23 pm

Re: assigning knobs on my midi controller

Postby AxeGrrl » Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:29 pm

jerjaxon wrote:wow. mixcraft kicks butt. anyway, i just got an m audio oxygen 25 midi controller, which works great, no problems setting it up with mixcraft.

Hey jerjaxon, I just picked up my Oxygen 25 today and literally just set it up.....can you help me out?

It sems to work fine with mixcraft in terms of it recognizing it and ive been able to 'record' with it, but i have HUGE (and probably stupid) question:

How do i access all of the instrument sounds ON the Oxygen 25??

The manual has a list of all the available instruments/effects, but I can't figure out how to access them :(

any help would be greatly appreciated! :)

Gasparius
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:08 am
Location: Hungary, Europe

Re: assigning knobs on my midi controller

Postby Gasparius » Thu Feb 14, 2013 1:59 am

I have an M-Audio keystation pro 88 MIDI keybnoard and contoller.

I would like assign to Mixcraft tracks separately buttons on my keyboard.

Possible: "Next track", "Previous track" etc. assign to separately controllers.

I would like: Assign to Track 1, Track 2, Track 3 etc., separately buttons, so only one press would be enough to change track in Mixcraft6.

It is possible?

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2119
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: assigning knobs on my midi controller

Postby trevlyns » Thu Feb 14, 2013 3:41 am

Gasparius wrote:I have an M-Audio keystation pro 88 MIDI keybnoard and contoller.

I would like assign to Mixcraft tracks separately buttons on my keyboard.

Possible: "Next track", "Previous track" etc. assign to separately controllers.

I would like: Assign to Track 1, Track 2, Track 3 etc., separately buttons, so only one press would be enough to change track in Mixcraft6.

It is possible?


Hi!

MIDI control in Mixcraft will only work on one track at a time (this will be changing - possibly with Mixcraft 7)

However, you can go through tracks - previous, next etc.

Go to Mix > control surfaces and you will see a whole lot of stuff you can control. Just click MIDI Learn and select the items you want to control.

Hope this helps!

Trevor
Attachments
pic.jpg
pic.jpg (140.05 KiB) Viewed 1836 times
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

My music is here

Official OFC™ Member

Win 7 pro 64 bit; MX7 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

Gasparius
Posts: 81
Joined: Tue Feb 12, 2013 11:08 am
Location: Hungary, Europe

Re: assigning knobs on my midi controller

Postby Gasparius » Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:29 am

Thanks trevlyns,

When can we expect the release of Mixcraft7?

...about....

...and what improvements can be expected?

User avatar
trevlyns
Posts: 2119
Joined: Sun May 06, 2012 1:59 am
Location: Essex, UK

Re: assigning knobs on my midi controller

Postby trevlyns » Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:45 am

The Mixcraft boys will have to answer that one :D

Talk is about a year or so.
Keep on trackin'

Trevor

My music is here

Official OFC™ Member

Win 7 pro 64 bit; MX7 Pro; Intel quad core i-5; 3.0 GHz; 16 GB RAM
I started out with nothing - and still have most of it left! - Seasick Steve

Acoustica Greg
Posts: 13420
Joined: Wed Mar 01, 2006 5:30 pm
Location: California
Contact:

Re: assigning knobs on my midi controller

Postby Acoustica Greg » Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:50 am

Hi,

We haven't started work on Mixcraft 7 yet; it will be a year or more away. Since we haven't even started designing it, there's no feature list at this point.

If you'd like to receive product update news, click "Like" on Mixcraft's Facebook page or sign up for the Acoustica Newsletter.

Greg

HPizzle
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 6:39 pm

Re: assigning knobs on my midi controller

Postby HPizzle » Sun Jan 05, 2014 8:31 pm

Trevlyns, I have a stupid question - i am using a similar m-audio oxygen midi keyboard, but its the 49 key version which has more cc buttons i think. i am trying to do what you said with assigning next track / previous track. i can assign previous or next track to one of the buttons i want to use, but i when i go to assign the other, it thinks its the same button, ie they both come up as cc / 32 / 0. i tried the logical thing and changed the 32 to a 33, but no dice. This particular row of buttons is really the only one i can use too, and all the buttons have the same result. i know its possible to seperate them, because fl studio automatically assigns each button to a track/channel. any suggestions? thanks

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 979
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: assigning knobs on my midi controller

Postby Vibrant Audio » Mon Jan 06, 2014 6:16 am

Hi HPizzle,

The M-Audio Oxygen49 has two 'track' buttons at the upper left next to the mod wheel:
TrackButtons.png
TrackButtons.png (253.88 KiB) Viewed 1479 times

I assigned those buttons for my Oxygen49. They work no problem.

They're CC 110 and 111.
*Vibrant Audio*

HPizzle
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 6:39 pm

Re: assigning knobs on my midi controller

Postby HPizzle » Mon Jan 06, 2014 10:33 am

That is the model III right? i should have specified i have the model II (the gray one, that unfortunately does not have those buttons) :/ I may upgrade eventually, but for now i need to find a solution with what I've got.

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 979
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: assigning knobs on my midi controller

Postby Vibrant Audio » Mon Jan 06, 2014 4:49 pm

This should be the manual for your unit:
http://www.m-audio.com/images/global/ma ... N01_V1.PDF

Here's the manual for the newer 49 and 61-key keyboards:
http://www.m-audio.com/images/global/ma ... t08_EN.pdf

You have to assign CC#'s to the buttons. The procedure is described on page 10 of the old manual. Don't know why they're not already programmed. All of the buttons on my unit were CC#0 from the factory.

Here's what I would do to assign buttons on your keyboard:
1) Press 'Advanced'
2) Press 'Ctrl Assign' (your low C note)
3) Press the Control Button you wish to program
4) Press in the CC# you wish to assign to the button
--- use the white keyboard keys in your upper octaves to select numbers
--- I suggest programming each button to the same number written below it
5) Press the Enter key (your high C note)
6) Repeat for each button you want to program

Now go back into Control Surfaces in Mixcraft and 'learn' those buttons in!
*Vibrant Audio*

HPizzle
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 03, 2014 6:39 pm

Re: assigning knobs on my midi controller

Postby HPizzle » Mon Jan 06, 2014 5:44 pm

thanks Vibrant Audio, that worked! Just one minor thing - step 3 should be step one actually (it assigns whatever the last controller that you used was). It didn't wok for me the first time cuz i didn't do it in that order. my old (same) keyboard got stolen, and i never had to mess with any of that, but the preowned one i got to replace it was apparently all outta whack. just glad it was fixable :)

Vibrant Audio
Posts: 979
Joined: Wed Jul 11, 2007 2:24 pm

Re: assigning knobs on my midi controller

Postby Vibrant Audio » Mon Jan 06, 2014 5:56 pm

Sweet! Glad you got it. :)
*Vibrant Audio*


Return to “Mixcraft”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests